Printing Workshop

These two prints were made by etching the image into a piece of acrylic Perspex. The sheet is then covered with a thin layer of ink and then rubbed off to leave the ink in the indents. Here are the results when put through an etching press:

Scan0004

Plain version

Coloured using watercolour pencils

Coloured using watercolour pencils

I also had a go doing a couple of mono prints. I rolled out a thin layer of ink and blotted it enough so it wouldn’t transfer if I had a piece of paper laying on it. Then, with my piece of paper on top, I drew directly onto the paper using a biro and used my fingers to create shadow and texture. When I lifted the paper, my image had been transferred onto the opposite side.

Scan0003

Plain version – done onto green paper

Painted using layers of shellac

Painted using layers of shellac

Leave a Reply

